Skip to content

Our leadership team

The leadership of Mackay Baptist Church is shared between our staff and the elected positions of elders and deacons. Our staff includes pastoral staff, administrative staff and counsellors. As per the church constitution, the ultimate governance of the church rests with the body of believers, being the membership of the church. The Board of Elders oversees the responsibilities of strategy, pastoral care, shepherding and leadership. The Board of Deacons oversees operational and practical responsibilities such as finances, property and administration.

Pastoral staff

Rev. Scott Jones – Senior Pastor

Rev. Richard Carpenter – Associate Pastor (Church Development)

Ps. Daniel O’Connor – Associate Pastor (Youth and Young Adults)


Bethany Venz – Admin Officer

Talia Fiyen – Children’s Ministry Coordinator

Jess Moodie – Intern

Ione Watkins – Counsellor

Dale Jones – Counsellor


Vince Tye

George Williams

John Mallet

Rob Ruge

Kerrie Vaughan


Peter Barnett – Secretary

Gordon Heelan – Treasurer

Alison Tye